University of Malaya
University of Malaya

University of Malaya or known as UM, is Malaysia’s a public research university located in Kuala Lumpur and also the oldest university in Malaysia. It is situated on a 922 acre campus in Southwest Kuala Lumpur. It was founded on 28 September 1905 and has its roots in Singapore. Formerly known as King Edward VII College of Medicine, it became University of Malaya on the 8th October 1949 following the merger with Raffles College (founded in 1928).

The rapid growth of the university during the first decade of its foundation resulted in the setting up of two autonomous Divisions on the 15th January 1959. One located in Singapore and the other, in Kuala Lumpur. In 1960, the two divisions would ultimately become autonomous separate national universities, one currently known as the National University of Singapore (NUS) and the other, retaining its name of University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur. Legislation was passed in 1961 by both governments and the University of Malaya was established on 1st January 1962.

Today, University of Malaya has more than 2,500 faculty members, 12 Faculties, 2 Academies and 3 Centres. Faculties range from Law to Engineering, dentistry, medicine, economics, architecture, business, accountancy and many others. Its academy comprise of the Academy of Malay Studies and also an Academy for Islamic Studies. On top of that, it has a Cultural centre, Sports centre and a centre for foundation studies.

University Details


Contact Info

University of Malaya
Address Jalan Universiti, 50603 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Malaysia
Phone (+603) 7967 4623